Is CBD halal? What Qualifies Halal CBD Products? Let’s Have A Look!

is cbd halal

Cbd is a widely used component of various medications and therapies, but as a Muslim, it is essential to know if CBD is halal or haram. Because we can not ingest or use the products prohibited in our religion. In Arabic, haram denotes forbidden or sin, whereas halal means permitted. Halal food is described as compliant with the traditional Islamic laws laid out in the Qur’an. Consuming anything that isn’t halal is forbidden for Muslims who follow the religion. Because CBD has become such a well-liked nutritional supplement, several individuals are unsure whether it is halal or haram. According to the Qur’an, drugs that “curtain the mind” are forbidden. It is generally accepted that this refers to euphoric substances, such as marijuana. So, let’s have a look in detail to know if cbd is halal or not.

Is CBD halal? 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), a prohibited intoxicant, is often found in cannabidiol (CBD) derived from cannabis. In response to question 259044, it is not permitted to add anything that impairs judgment to food or medicine. If it is genuinely added, the adder is guilty of the sin. Then, we should examine the food or medicine. If the amount of intoxicant is so little that it is entirely absorbed and no trace of it can be discovered, and if it will not produce intoxication in the person who eats or drinks a lot of that food or medicine, then there is no issue with ingesting it.

If CBD oils and vape juices don’t make you drunk and don’t contain any THC, they are halal. The kind of CBD product you consume and whether it has any extra substances that Islam would prohibit will determine whether this is the case. Gelatin, food coloring, and flavorings are typical components that might occasionally be considered forbidden.

Some CBD ingredients that are haram in Islam


Gelatine is a prohibited ingredient in some CBD capsules. However, it would be OK if it was made of bovine gelatin, and halal laws butchered the cow.


If they don’t come from a halal source, flavorings, and colorings may also be considered haram. For instance, some may contain non-halal animal products or alcohol byproducts.

Vape Liquids

Although CBD e-liquids appear to be halal, there is a heated debate over whether vaping should be made illegal. Vaping CBD may not fall within the 2015 Malaysian National Fatwa Council’s haram declaration of electronic cigarette use. Some contend that it should be legal if science someday demonstrates that it is entirely safe and that vape liquids only contain natural chemicals. Others, however, consider vaping to be haram because, despite being safe, it imitates evil behavior.

Are E-cigarettes halal or not?

Are E-cigarettes halal or not

We were able to determine that electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes) contain nicotine as well as other harmful chemicals. Therefore, eating them is forbidden. Be wary of being duped by cigarette firms’ advertising and their assertions that e-cigarettes contain no nicotine.

The Prophet (blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said: “Whoever imitates a people is one of them.” Even if we presume it is without nicotine and other hazardous ingredients, you shouldn’t smoke it. (Abu Dawud (4031) narrates; al-Albani deems it sahih in Sahih Sunan Abi Dawud.)

Is CBD oil halal? 

There are doubts regarding the halalness of CBD oil because it is derived from hemp or cannabis plants, which contain different levels of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol). While it’s crucial to highlight that the psychoactive component in cannabis is not present in CBD products, some Muslims continue to view it as a substance prohibited by the Islamic faith due to its relationship with THC’s psychoactive effects.

According to certain Muslim scholars, a CBD product made from hemp and devoid of THC or other intoxicating substances should be regarded as halal and permitted for therapeutic use. Others, however, aren’t certain and think that CBD’s halal or haram status depends on the plant it was extracted from (hemp vs. cannabis) and the method used to obtain it. Furthermore, some Muslims assert that they cannot consider CBD to be halal since certain elements can render it haram because non-halal materials like food additives like gelatine or alcohol are frequently used in CBD processing. Additionally, many foods and beverages we eat today can be made using halal-friendly ingredients, including rice paper made without GMOs, water-based glazing for CBD sweets, and vegetable-based capsules.

What Qualifies Halal CBD Products?

Suppose you believe that CBD products from hemp plants, don’t utilize any alcohol in the extraction or refinement processes, and don’t contain even a trace of THC are halal. In that case, you have a lot of possibilities. Look for CBD products that satisfy the following requirements while searching for ones that can be considered halal.

Broad spectrum CBD

All therapeutic cannabinoids and terpenes are included in full-spectrum CBD formulations, which include tinctures, lotions, capsules, and edibles. The fact that broad-spectrum formulae are further refined to remove any traces of THC and other psychotropic cannabinoids like CBN and Delta-8/9 THC, however, qualifies them as a halal product. In addition to being a restricted substance, these cannabinoids are filtered out of the hemp extract because of their reputation for being psychoactive. Broad-spectrum CBD oils often employ an MCT or hemp seed oil carrier oil to increase absorption and provide a full-plant CBD experience without any psychotropic effects. These oils are typically regarded as halal.

Vegan and animal-free

Finding CBD products that are both certified vegan and cruelty-free will assist in verifying that they were not made from animal byproducts that weren’t killed and prepared by the halal standards outlined in the Qur’an. Since they don’t contain some substances in non-vegan or products that use animal testing, such as artificial colors, parabens, and alcohol, vegan and cruelty-free products will also have a significantly higher safety rating.

BD Isolated oil

Not everyone who uses CBD products is seeking various cannabinoids or other additives. As a substitute, many CBD users in the UK want a product made entirely of pure CBD and MCT oil for optimum absorption. CBD isolates are considered the purest form of the drug because they are devoid of THC, psychoactive cannabinoids, terpenes, and other plant components. They can also be utterly halal if produced with a halal carrier oil like hemp seed or fractionated coconut oil. CBD products, such as topical skincare creams, capsules, and gummies, use CBD isolate as their primary ingredient. Finding lab tests that confirm the accuracy of a CBD isolate formulation is crucial.

How to find halal CBD products?

How to find halal CBD products

One of the fastest-growing global industries is the health food sector, and CBD products are gaining popularity. However, it can be challenging to identify halal-friendly products on the market because so many are available. When selecting CBD products, keep the following in mind:

Search for CBD products that are pure or have a broad spectrum.

Selecting a CBD product created with broad-spectrum CBD or CBD isolate is the best method to ensure it is halal-compliant. They underwent a process to eliminate THC and other psychotropic substances. The broad-spectrum way results in an oil high in CBD and low in THC.

Click here to find out how CBD isolate is made?

On the other hand, a CBD isolate recipe solely contains pure CBD. A 99% pure CBD product remains after all other cannabinoids and substances have been removed. The final product will also be entirely halal if a halal carrier oil is utilized.

Select a CBD product that has undergone third-party testing.

Always select a CBD product that has undergone testing from a reputable laboratory. The independent process of third-party lab testing entails the shipment of CBD products to a recognized laboratory for examination. The lab will examine the product for potency, purity, and safety. They will also look for any potentially dangerous pollutants. The CBD firm receives the test results, which are subsequently forwarded to them; the results should be viewable on their website. 

Look for products that are cruelty and vegan-free

All living things should be treated with kindness and compassion, according to the teachings of the Qur’an. Halal goods shouldn’t be tested on animals because this involves animals. Look for vegan and cruelty-free CBD products that have received certification. This indicates that neither the product’s ingredients nor its testing on animals involved animals.

See the ingredients list 

Look closely at the ingredients after discovering a THC-free, vegan product from a reliable vendor. Most CBD oils have just a few constituents. However, others could have additional ones that are optional. Watch out for fillers, additives, and tastes that could not be halal to know cbd oil halal

The bottom line 

So the answer to the question is cbd halal? It is essential to check third-party lab certificates to confirm that it is free of, or low in, THC is also crucial. Before making a purchase, ask the retailer any questions you may have directly to confirm if cbd is halal or not. But, Because CBD oil is a natural plant extract that won’t get you high, it is considered halal. Utilizing a renowned, trusted provider will ensure you are sure of their “THC-free” designation and feel secure using a halal product. Before deciding whether to use CBD, some Muslims may feel most at ease speaking with their local religious leaders and conducting their study due to its origins and the extremely rigorous criteria around what is halal or haram.


Are CBD and hemp halal?

MCT or hemp seed oil carrier oils are frequently used in broad-spectrum CBD oils to increase absorption and provide a full-plant CBD experience without any euphoric side effects. In general, these oils are regarded as halal.

Is CBD oil haram?

As a natural plant extract with no psychotropic properties or unfavorable side effects, CBD oil is halal and can be used by Muslims by Islamic law.

Are CBD gummies halal? 

Gummies containing CBD are regarded as halal because they don’t contain THC. Therefore, they lack the potential to produce a euphoric effect like THC or Delta 9. Due to the absence of THC, CBD vaping and smoking are accepted as halal practices.




Rebecca is a professional writer at With a passion for health and wellness, exploring the benefits of CBD and educating others on its many uses. Through extensive research and experience, she provides valuable insights and advice for those seeking to improve their overall well-being with CBD. Her writing style is approachable and informative, making the work accessible to readers of all levels of familiarity with CBD.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *